Time to Abilify

When I am in an uncomfortable interpersonal situation I take off my glasses. The people in front of me blur into a mosaic of colors and vibrations that have, on me, the effect of twisting a car radio volume knob. I squint and lean on the steering wheel and peer at street signs. Without the obligation of looking into one’s eyes I can welcome the auditory impact my treatment team have on us – or, me, as I would soon be corrected had I uttered this out loud.


I am not schizophrenic.

You are resisting treatment.

This is what happens, think about it – you quit lamotrigin and

I was unaware of this

Yes she said last time that one of the – had quit it

Cold turkey

Yes

We’re playing with gummy bracelets

_____, we’re thinking you should get back on it

There is a monkey and a broken elephant

_____, are you listening?

Yes, I listen

We have been working on the book,

I make copies for all my patients–

How do you spell that again?

Unicorn one, unicorn two

But _____ hasn’t been to sessions, you

say it’s the sleep paralyses, right, _____?

She spoke to us of it but we don’t know what it is

Well it’s a state of sleep but it’s more like—

Your parts are resisting treatment, _____

They didn’t want to come here, they keep making

you miss our sessions—

I have told ____ that we are here to treat her, not her parts

But my parts are me!

Yes she needs a sense of self, she needs to stay awake


I awaken to find a row of sillybandz on my thigh. The elephant is broken. I am sitting along the same sofa with my psychotherapist for the first time, our alignment bipolar. The doctor and nurse exchange glances across the table and jot down in their leaflets.

Yksi kommentti artikkeliin ”Time to Abilify

Vastaa

Täytä tietosi alle tai klikkaa kuvaketta kirjautuaksesi sisään:

WordPress.com-logo

Olet kommentoimassa WordPress.com -tilin nimissä. Log Out / Muuta )

Twitter-kuva

Olet kommentoimassa Twitter -tilin nimissä. Log Out / Muuta )

Facebook-kuva

Olet kommentoimassa Facebook -tilin nimissä. Log Out / Muuta )

Google+ photo

Olet kommentoimassa Google+ -tilin nimissä. Log Out / Muuta )

Muodostetaan yhteyttä palveluun %s