I Killed My Butterfly

@font-face { font-family: ”Cambria”; }p.MsoNormal, li.MsoNormal, div.MsoNormal { margin: 0cm 0cm 0.0001pt; font-size: 12pt; font-family: ”Times New Roman”; }div.Section1 { page: Section1; }

I Killed My Butterfly

I killed my butterfly.
And I’m not sorry I did,
I used the scissors, you see
The ones you keep in the cupboard
Above the sink,
The ones you cut my hair with?
I used those.
I thought the red rubber in the middle
Suited the butterfly’s spine,
It looked like a silly coat!
I killed my butterfly,
I made seven holes in both wings
Before snapping them off
Giving her antlers a nice twist
Before pulling pulling pulling
Them out — oh my God she fought
Back but I was too strong.
You see,
I’d had it for a month.
A whole month already!
It was her time to go.
So once the wings were off
And the fuzzy antlers gone
I went for the eyes,
I went for the eyes and I said
Fuck you, butterfly,
Fuck you for flying into
My life.
”Herein lies the deepest symbolic lesson of the butterfly. She asks us to accept the changes in our lives as casually as she does. The butterfly unquestioningly embraces the changes of her environment and her body.” SOURCE

11 kommenttia artikkeliin ”I Killed My Butterfly

  1. goodness..what a write… great metaphor here and sometimes we just can't accept the changes in our life but have to fight our own wrong contenment…but next time…just shut that butterfly away a bit…and then let her fly again…smiles

    Tykkää

  2. Absolutely addictive poem! You had me from the very beginning. So, dark mysterious. It resonates with raw feeling and emotion. I loved this!

    Tykkää

Vastaa

Täytä tietosi alle tai klikkaa kuvaketta kirjautuaksesi sisään:

WordPress.com-logo

Olet kommentoimassa WordPress.com -tilin nimissä. Log Out / Muuta )

Twitter-kuva

Olet kommentoimassa Twitter -tilin nimissä. Log Out / Muuta )

Facebook-kuva

Olet kommentoimassa Facebook -tilin nimissä. Log Out / Muuta )

Google+ photo

Olet kommentoimassa Google+ -tilin nimissä. Log Out / Muuta )

Muodostetaan yhteyttä palveluun %s