Sunday Scribblings #5: Muse

Have you met yours?  The origins of muse are here, but what do you make of muse?

I suppose to me a muse is a flesh-formed syndicate of different kinds of inspirations; something that instead of a flashing by in light-bulb-fashion stays with you for an amount of time, like something sinking in slowly enough that if you accidentally scrape at it, you lose a fraction. Muse is something you need focus on, it doesn’t just come to you like a spark of inspiration when you see something lovely or brutally ugly enough to make you act upon it in an artistic way. I sometimes see my muse but I tend to lose it. I suppose I still need some better footing in writing.
10 kommenttia artikkeliin ”Sunday Scribblings #5: Muse

  1. My muse is an insomniac! Lol. But I agree, if she comes and inspires me I better get it written down right then our I lose it! And she likes to come when I'm trying to go to sleep. So I have to keep a notebook by the bed. Needless to say, I stay tired lol

    Tykkää

  2. As funny as the first comment was with ”bum glue” I have always found that getting out and observing quietly was the answer. Then those Muses follow me and give me a nudge as I walk or sit, drinking in my surroundings, people, places and incidents all being etched on my brain.

    Thought provoking post.

    Tykkää

  3. @zongrik, call me crazy, but I tend to see my muse around me, hence the glesh-formed syndicate. I mean by syndicate that it is things joined together. There is a difference between inspiration and muse 🙂

    Tykkää

  4. My first time here, thanks to Sunday Scribs! Everyone has a different approach to their muse. Mine finds me, has always found me. Unfortunately, it's usually in the shower, and then I call to my husband who sits on a chair and calmly takes notes!

    I'm with Old Egg in the idea that it could be out in nature… but surrounded by things you love, and peace, for me that's key. This was a wonderful, thought-provoking post! Amy Barlow Liberatore, and here's mine:
    http://sharplittlepencil.wordpress.com/2011/08/30/i-met-my-muse-when-i-was-two/

    Tykkää

Vastaa

Täytä tietosi alle tai klikkaa kuvaketta kirjautuaksesi sisään:

WordPress.com-logo

Olet kommentoimassa WordPress.com -tilin nimissä. Log Out / Muuta )

Twitter-kuva

Olet kommentoimassa Twitter -tilin nimissä. Log Out / Muuta )

Facebook-kuva

Olet kommentoimassa Facebook -tilin nimissä. Log Out / Muuta )

Google+ photo

Olet kommentoimassa Google+ -tilin nimissä. Log Out / Muuta )

Muodostetaan yhteyttä palveluun %s